About Us

Suffolk Shorts was established as a Community Interest Company in 2019 with the aim of bringing exceptional short films to Suffolk as well as encouraging local filmmaking. During 2019 the team curated programmes for First Light Festival, and brought The Best of the Fest to Leiston Film Theatre. In May 2020 submissions opened for the first Suffolk Shorts awards. Then COVID happened. Rather than launching our full festival online we decided to extend the submissions. We held the first full festival in real life, and online with our partners, Ipswich Film Theatre, in October 2021. We are a team of passionate people who care about bringing British and Independent short films to Suffolk. We all believe that short films are the future. Get in touch if you want to know more or want to join us!


Claire Whittenbury

Festival Director

After many years in film and TV production Claire became part of the team that launched the FilmFour channel, where she discovered her love of short film through the Short Attention Span Cinema strand. She went on to produce The Shooting Gallery with Mark Kermode, profiling filmmakers and introducing new short films to a late night audience on Channel 4.  She’s dedicated to bringing international short film to Suffolk and determined to encourage investment in local talent.

Rachel Aldridge

Festival Director

Rachel spent ten years in London working for ITV, working her way through the ranks to become Producer/Director on a number of factual and entertainment programmes. Since moving back to Suffolk she has worked as a Suffolk-based location manager and location scout. She works part-time for Screen Suffolk, the county’s official film office, supporting and promoting filmmaking in the county. Her aim is to raise the profile of filmmaking in East Anglia, and to create a fund specifically for that purpose.

Hebe Dobson-Mouawad


Hebe is a writer based in Suffolk. Starting out as a sales associate at an international film distribution company, Hebe soon discovered her passion for writing. In 2016, aged nineteen, her first work was published in The Guardian, being shared over 6,000 times across social media. Hebe graduated in 2020 with a First Class in BA (Hons) Screenwriting from the University of Suffolk and was awarded the title of Screenwriting Student of the Year.

Jim Horsfield

Technical Manager

Jim Horsfield has worked internationally on events and festivals for 15 years, specialising in projection and AV Project Management. He has worked with numerous clients including Brighton Festival, The Banff Mountain Film Festival UK, NESTA, Max Cooper and the Samsung Olympic Torch Relay. Originally from Birmingham, Jim now lives in Ipswich.

Remi Morrison

Animation Programme Lead 2021

Remi is an emerging creative producer of TV and Film across scripted, unscripted and film, producing for the likes of Penguin Books, Public Health England, and University of Suffolk. She is a champion for women in the media, among her early projects is an online series of inspirational interviews with women – Breaking Out of the Box. Remi is currently developing a new animation series.

Rob Bevan

Arts & Performance Programme Lead 2021

Rob Bevan was a founding partner at online drama production company XPT, and director of BAFTA-winning Online Caroline, he also co-founded NoHo Digital. Rob began his interactive media career in the late 1980s creating educational CD-ROMs for Apple’s Renaissance project and The MultiMedia Corporation, the BBC’s former Interactive Television Unit. He is a member of the BAFTA British Short Film category longlisting group.

Joshua Dickson

Joshua Dickinson

East Anglian Film Programme lead 2021

Joshua Dickinson is an actor, writer and director. His independent film work includes Dry River (2021), Redcon-1 (2018) and The Mirror (2014). His first short film as a writer/director ‘Spiral’ is in development with Paradox House. As Head of Filmmaking for Young Film Academy in London he delivers courses on screenwriting and filmmaking, he also teaches screen acting at Royal Central School of Speech and Drama.

Drama programme Lead Neil McGlone

Neil McGlone

Drama Programme Lead 2021

Neil is Project Manager at The Riverside cinema in his hometown of Woodbridge, Suffolk. He is researcher for The Criterion Collection in New York having worked on every release since 2013.  Neil is festival advisor and consultant to Il Cinema Ritrovato in Bologna, Karlovy Vary Film Festival in the Czech Republic and Cinema Reborn in Sydney, Australia. Neil has worked on Aki Kaurismäki’s new film and is also a contributor to Sight and Sound, and founder of Film Feast UK.

Christine Howell

Advisor - policy

Christine Howell is a specialist in policy and security, having been Senior Director of Policy and Security at Oracle for 16 years. Christine advised us on our application to be incorporated as a CIC and is working on general administration for the launch of the festival with a particular focus on equality and diversity.

Mary Graham

Advisor - marketing and press

Having earned her spurs working for leading London agencies and major brand in-house marketing teams, Mary Graham knows how marketing works from both sides of the fence. As a Director of First Light Festival Mary championed Suffolk Shorts and now provides the team with much needed support, both moral and professional. Mary is a founder of Yellobelly, a creative agency based in Suffolk.


Suffolk Shorts is proud of our partnerships and look forward to establishing future connections with like minded organisations.